Spoiled

I have a very dear friend who doesn’t do surprises. It’s not really that she doesn’t like surprises, but that she always winds up spoiling them. Gift giving isn’t really a love language in her family, but they also think it’s really important that everyone get presents for special occasions. So what usually winds up happening is my friend picks a bunch of things she has wanted and asks for them. Almost invariably, she gets those things. But for some reason, her family still wraps the things. No real surprise in the opening of presents.

It’s the same with plots to movies, TV shows, and books. She reads summaries before actually watching or reading the thing.

I don’t get it.

Occasionally I’ve been tempted to look ahead so much because I just wanted to find out what happens, but that is very rare. And the more I like the thing, the less willing I become to let it get spoiled. I knew almost nothing about Civil War when it came out, besides who was in it. I know there’s a blogger that does a detailed summary of each new issue of my favorite manga, Skip Beat, before the translations come out, but I won’t even look at the raws that blogger posts with the summary. I usually don’t even watch trailers to new movies, if possible.

Can anybody explain to me why spoiling things is OK?

4 thoughts on “Spoiled

  1. Some people find enjoyment is just knowing NOW instead of waiting and going through the whole process of the story or anticipation. Perhaps it’s also a planning thing in regard to gifts. They just want specific things they know they can use.
    My sister also doesn’t mind finding out the big twist in stories but I think with her it’s so that she can look for clues in the story the first time reading or watching that foreshadow the twist. Personally I find it a good excuse to go through the story a second time XD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I go both ways on this – I love anticipation and not knowing minor things like gifts and funny moments in a story. But for large things like plot twists or surprise parties (or visits) or anything that could wrench my heart out of wack, I like to be prepared. I’ve been known to skim summaries of every episode of an entire season of a tv show before I watch it, just to know if it’s worth my time. There are certain mystery authors with only two plots, and while I enjoy the ride I’ll frequently skim the last chapter to find out if this is the “good guy is actually the bad guy” or the “bad guy is actually the bad guy” plot. Just so I don’t walk away disgruntled and out of sorts. I’m with Jessy’s sister – I love being able to look for clues and foreshadowing the first time around 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. But sometimes those episodes that you skip because they don’t seem like they’re worth your time might have some of the most brilliant moments of the entire season. And if you watch those moments in clips, they don’t have the same impact because they’re taken out of context.

    I’ve always wanted to have a surprise party. 25 years and I still haven’t had one. The problem is, you can’t throw yourself a surprise party… 😛

    Like

Sit and Chat

