Thoughts About Writing

As I’ve begun to develop Freak Accidents more, I’ve found myself wanting to keep developing it and to keep writing it. A friend suggested that I pace myself, so I’m writing a normal post before I continue on with the next installment.

When I started this project, all I had was a tiny idea—a group of friends talking about having powers and getting each other’s by accident. I didn’t have any ideas about the characters or who they were or what they were like. It’s amazing to see how much the idea has grown in my head over the last few weeks (I know, I started it a long time ago, but I got hung up on some details, so essentially I’m picking up where I left off). I’m looking forward to seeing it grow in the blog, too. Because what I see in my head will definitely not be how it comes out in the blog. Why does everything come out so much less amazing when you’re typing it out?

I will apologize for making it first person across the board. I like first person. I’m using it as an exercise in distinguishing characters by their individual voices (and I’ve started labeling each section so you know who’s speaking from the get-go). Robbie and Kerry think in similar ways, so their voices are similar, but Angie generally thinks in complete sentences with fewer interrupted thoughts. It makes for longer writing.

If you’re new to my blog and haven’t the foggiest idea what I’m talking about, please check out the Freak Accidents tab at the top of the page/in the menu and start with “More than a Mistake” to read my ongoing superhero story.

Sit and Chat

