It’s a Love Story

I spend a lot of time on Pinterest. A lot. It’s a great way to keep track of what’s going on on tumblr without actually getting a tumblr—because honestly, if I had a tumblr, all forms of real social interaction would virtually disappear. And I see a lot of posts about people wishing that this story or that movie isn’t all about this love interest or that love triangle. And I get that. I do. But honestly? I don’t wish that. What I wish is that there were more real love stories out there. I wish that the action movies wouldn’t belittle the love story by making it a 2-second, here’s-your-cursory-love-story-are-you-satisfied-now addition. And I wish that the “real” love stories weren’t these sappy, wishy-washy, empty stories that claim to be about love.

If the Greatest Story Ever Told is basically a love story, doesn’t that justify us spending more of our time fleshing out real ones?

Then by all means, create an epic adventure tale that, at its core, hinges on the love one person holds for another, whether filial, philial, or  romantic. And that just gave me a great idea!

Sit and Chat

