When a Book Keeps You Up

It’s a love/hate relationship when someone else expresses something that you understand well in better words than you ever could. But yeah. What she says. Though I never really had a curfew as a child, so I never had the tearful confession.

The Dinkey-Bird and Me

Yes, I read the entire book last night. Yes, I am paying for it today. No, I don’t regret it.

When I was little, I would read when I was supposed to be sleeping. Yes, I was that child. The one who read under the covers. Although . . . I didn’t necessarily read UNDER the covers. I didn’t even use a flashlight. Instead, I would lie there on the top bunk and use the light from my nightlight to read.

I remember going on adventures with Betsy Ross, George Washington, and Paul Revere. (I was on an early American kick for a while.)

Eventually, my conscience got the better of me, and I came crying into my parents’ room one night to confess my terrible transgressions. I credit this brave act with saving my eyesight.

As I got older and the bedtimes got later, the books stayed close by…

View original post 284 more words

Sit and Chat

